Small, sweet moments

Wednesday Shawn accompanied me on a hurried bike/MAX train trip to Vancouver, Washington. I was meeting up with my friend Coral, who was going to drive us to Seattle to see Amanda Palmer and Neil Gaiman perform. My “job” was to keep her awake on the drive home, and then after a few hours’ sleep I would leave early in the morning as she and her husband left for work.

I don’t know how many of my readers are familiar with Amanda (a singer/songwriter who does amusing/odd music) and/or Neil (a wonderful, Newbury award-winning author of novels, short stories, and poetry), but oh, the night was amazing and they were excellent. Lots of music and readings, lots of silliness, the two of them are just adorable together.

It did feel strange to be in a car and go to Seattle and back in less than twelve hours. I think it took Shawn and I, what, three days to get there?

In any case, I left Coral’s house in Vancouver just before dawn, and at first all I could think about was how cold I was!

But then I got on the I-5 bridge, and what a gorgeous sight–the sun was rising just to the south of Mt. Hood. The mountain itself was in silhouette above the Columbia River, and surrounded by oranges and pinks and yellows. I didn’t have a camera with me, but I stopped for a minute to enjoy the view anyway, before getting back on the bike.

I could see the view for a bit even after getting off the bridge, and I was not the only one to be stopped in wonder. I saw two people who’d made the trek out in the early morning with nice cameras, and I saw another cyclist who was leaning on a barrier, chin in hand, still in the saddle, soaking in the view.

And none of us said a word to each other, but I made eye contact as I went by, and smiles were exchanged. And I wondered about the people who drive over the I-5 bridge every morning…do they look over for split seconds to see as much of it as they can? Or do they see this so often that they ignore it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Small, sweet moments

  1. adventure! says:

    It did feel strange to be in a car and go to Seattle and back in less than twelve hours. I think it took Shawn and I, what, three days to get there?

    We did it four days. Realistically it should have been done in five at the pace we were going, but we didn’t have time. And we still got a ride for 30 miles, and took light rail for the last 10.

    And I still can’t believe you haven’t read all of Sandman yet! ;-)

  2. Michelle says:

    No WAY!
    I was at that show too!
    It was awesome!
    So excited to find your blog via urban adventure league. (:

  3. MelissatheRagamuffin says:

    I love love love Neil Gaiman.

Leave a Reply

