Missoula

Okay, so first things first: I finally put together a Links page! You can click on the thing that says “Links,” or you can go here.

Missoula, as it turns out, is pretty awesome. And not just because I surprised a deer in the backyard when I went to hang up our wet laundry. It’s just a nice little town.

Shawn and I went to Adventure Cycling’s offices yesterday, and I think both of us were surprised at how much it lifted our spirits. We’re not the only people to ever do something this crazy! There’s always a feeling of warmth from other people who like bicycles as much as we do, but a small building full of people who like bicycle touring the way we do, is something else. We got our picture taken for the wall (lots of Portland folks represented), drank a free can of pop, read portions of the big book people write in when they visit (and added our own entries) and got the official tour. I think my favorite parts were: 1. the old bicycles on display, usually hanging on the walls or on top of room dividers near the ceiling, and 2. their book collection. I could have sat there all day! They had many shelves of books on touring and other bicycle-related topics, as well as issues of several cycling magazines going back to the late 1960’s.

We chatted with people sitting on their steps eating ice cream, and ran into several other cycle tourists in other parts of town, too. It was just too awesome.

Today: right now my bicycle is in a shop getting a new rear axle, and I’m going to walk over and get it in a bit. Then it’s, *sigh*, errand-running. It’s supposed to get up to 90F today, which is the biggest reason we’re not leaving Missoula just yet. Plus it gives us more time to enjoy ourselves here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Missoula

  1. StJason says:

    My grandmother lived in Missoula. Many of my early summers were spent biking around the university district or climbing up Mt. Jumbo. We once had a picnic right on the giant M. I would take my grandmother’s ancient 3-speed and bike down to the University Market and get gummi bears and Swedish fish from the bulk bins…

  2. Todd says:

    Good to hear that you are taking care of that rear hub. Make sure to buy a set of cone wrenches and spoke spanner in case things loosen up after your first long day using the wheel.

  3. Ed says:

    Congrats! Sounds like you’re having a great time!

  4. MelissaTheRagamuffin says:

    Sometime I think I’d just like to ride as far as Missoula just to be able to say I did it. Alas, getting more than 1 week off from my job at a time is not actually possible.

Leave a Reply

