The Big Trip!

If you know me in person, you’ve heard me talking about *gulp* The Big Trip!

Yep! Shawn and I are going to travel through the US and Canada! We leave in late May and return in the fall! (And I’m abusing exclamation points!)

Surely you want more info. Surely you can find it here, on Shawn’s blog, including the general route we’ll be taking.

But why are we doing such a thing? Partially, because we love bicycle touring and want to do a long cross-continent trip. But also, we’ll be checking out the “bicycle culture” of other cities–what cool stuff are people doing related to bicycles? What kinds of fun rides and events are people doing in other places? We’ll be writing about it on our individual blogs, and eventually (we hope) there will be a book!

We’re really excited!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Big Trip!

  1. revdarkwater says:

    AWESOME! Just . . . I wish you were swinging through the southeastern states. I’d do my best to talk Shawn into adding nuptials to his announcement (hey, he raised it). I really, really want to do an on-bicycles wedding [grin]. Oh well, maybe on your next cross-continent ride! Looking forward to more reports!

    • Eek, sorry it’s taken me so long to reply.

      We do have a couple of friends who are doing the cross-country bike tour thing as their honeymoon, and I couldn’t help but think, shouldn’t you do that *before* you get married? LOL! I think long-term bike touring is a bit like what I’ve read about riding a tandem: It won’t necessarily make you closer or drive you apart, but whatever direction you were going in, it’ll just make it happen faster. So far our longest trip is only nine days, and at least 95% of the time we got along fine. Most of our small amount of friction is caused by me being hungry and/or just having woken up. I am not a morning person.

  2. adventure! says:

    ’d do my best to talk Shawn into adding nuptials to his announcement (hey, he raised it).

    I raised what?

Leave a Reply

